The Shroud

Surely I’m not the only person fascinated by the Shroud of Turin. This piece of cloth, reputed to have been the burial shroud of Jesus, has mystified Christians and nonchristians alike for centuries. To get up to speed, try this website. But that’s not the reason for my post.

I came across this article in March or April, when it first came out. Pretty interesting, particularly since it shows how an image like the Shroud’s might be placed on a cloth. The home page for the guy who did the experiments is here.

What is this thing? I’m a skeptic to my core, even about conventional wisdom that has been mine since childhood, or things I’ve experienced myself (speaking in tongues, being “slain in the Spirit,” entire sanctification, etc. Okay, looks like most of these are Pentecostal phenomena). Thankfully, however, I seem to have developed an equal measure of mysticism. I love the apostle Paul’s use of the word mystery, and I think it’s fallen into disuse to our detriment.

I guess what I’m getting at is that I think something like the Shroud could exist; I’m just not sure the one we have is it. I tend to like the more romantic idea (not romantic in the Danielle Steel/Harlequin sense, folks) that the real shroud is in the hands of descendants of John the beloved, (relatives at least, since John doesn’t seem to have been married). Some poor family in the Middle East keep it in a stone box. Sigh. The stuff of Indy 4. (WAKE UP, LUCAS/SPIELBERG!)

So check out the Shadow Shroud experiment, and let me know what you think.

For other artifacts related to the life/crucifixion/resurrection of Jesus, see here or here.

Leave a Reply

