Church

Church confuses me.

I had a friend recently ask me: “What does God mean for the church in your life?” or something like that. I restrained myself from answering with something snide.

What is church about? Really.

I am a firstborn, so I did the right thing and went to church. I was very active in our church’s youth group. I sat on the second row at church growing up, I helped in Sunday school. In short, I was a church dork.

I went to college and was less dorky, and I think I’m even less dorky today. But where has all that time gotten me?

Bottom line: If the church is about pretending to be Superman while I have more in common with the Batman, I’m not interested. Let me explain.

If I have to pretend to be a superhero, polished, always hopeful and righteous, impervious to everything that comes my way, someone with the ability to make things right and who always does it, while inside I’m more a creature of the night, hiding who I really am and my secret struggles with a dark side, afraid of what I might do if there were no consequences.

This probably seems disjointed, but it’s where I am right now. I could polish it, but I don’t want to.

11 thoughts on “Church”

  1. “An essential characteristic of the superhero mythology is, there’s the superhero, and there’s the alter ego. Batman is actually Bruce Wayne, Spider-Man is actually Peter Parker. When he wakes up in the morning, he’s Peter Parker. He has to put on a costume to become Spider-Man. And it is in that characteristic that Superman stands alone. Superman did not become Superman, Superman was born Superman. When Superman wakes up in the morning, he’s Superman. His alter ego is Clark Kent. His outfit with the big red “S”, that’s the blanket he was wrapped in as a baby when the Kents found him. Those are his clothes. What Kent wears, the glasses, the business suit, that’s the costume. That’s the costume Superman wears to blend in with us. Clark Kent is how Superman views us. And what are the characteristics of Clark Kent? He’s weak, he’s unsure of himself… he’s a coward. Clark Kent is Superman’s critique on the whole human race.”

    In an effort not to disrupt the disjointed-ness, I post this quote from “Kill Bill, vol. 2”. It’s a bit random, but there’s a connection in there somewhere. I’ve been wanting to work this quote in as a commentary on Christians and our role in the world around us. Thoughts?

    Also, on the whole church thing…I wrestle with myself over whether it’s pointless. And if it’s not, then what is the point? The pat answer of course, is that it’s about having fellowship with other believers and getting instruction and insight from the Bible (worthy reasons, both of those). But is that what I actually go to church for? Or do I just go out of habit, out of commitment? And if I do go out of habit and commitment, are those less worthy reasons?

  2. I like the quote Michelle, therefore I will thieve it from you like an arch-villain. Actually I will steal it from the biggest dork ever to parade around as a respectable director. And the worst cameo actor I think I have ever seen.

    My brother James, you were never a dork. If everyone in the world had just one moment of honest self-evaluation like you have on a regular basis, the new Jerusalem would already have descended. When church ceases to become a destination and worship a scheduled event, I think we’ll break through. Not Jerusalem, Jews. Not Mt. Gerizim, Samaritans.

  3. church confuses the mess out of me as well. I sit there on alot of Sundays asking myself, “What the heck are we doing?”
    It seems it has become such a rehearsed show that is focused on numbers and physical/emotional responses. Nothing against any specific church…just the 21st century Christian church in general.
    There has to be a better way.

Leave a Reply

