Devotional: Jesus–Meek and Mild?

I believe it to be a great mistake to present Christianity as something charming and popular with no offense in it. . . . We cannot blink at the fact that gentle Jesus meek and mild was so stiff in his opinions and so inflammatory in his language that he was thrown out of church, stoned, hunted from place to place, and finally gibbeted as a firebrand and a public danger. Whatever his peace was, it was not the peace of an amiable indifference. Dorothy Sayers

Jesus is compassionate and merciful, but he never shies away from the truth–even when it costs him his life. By our standards, Jesus was an absolute failure. He spent thirty years in relative obscurity, had his “fifteen minutes,” attracted the attention of the wrong people, and they had him killed.

I came across the above this summer, and it cut me to the bone. I wonder how often I let my desire to be inoffensive and charming get in the way of what God does through me.

As you go about your tasks today and this week, ask yourself this question: Do I let my desire for “success” or approval affect the choices I make?

5 thoughts on “Devotional: Jesus–Meek and Mild?”

  1. that’s a good point. we often let our desire to be comfortable over-rule our call to be faithful. tough lesson.

  2. Studebaker said something similar, in his own words the other day: “Whatever happened to the flannelgraph Jesus? This guy is mean!”

  3. Yea. I’m tired of people who think that inorder to be “Christ like” we have to avoid “making waves.” God expects us to “turn the tide” in our society, and I don’t know anyone who could succeed in turning the tide without making waves. -just a thought.

  4. That is really good. I know I struggle with this. Instead you think okay let me think about not making Jesus “offensive” to people, but the truth is Jesus made alot of people go on the defense in His day.

  5. It seems that in a world where people are not afraid to be bold about what they think and what and what have you, we – the righteous who are supposed to be as bold as lions – are so timid and afraid of being just as bold (if not bolder) than the world. We have the Hope. We have the Peace. Let us all be bold and courageous. Thanks, Pastor Jamie.

Leave a Reply

