Book Update

The current list:

I’m finally getting around to actually reading Streams of Living Water (instead of using it as a resource). Rich, rich stuff, even just a few pages in. The stuff about imitating Jesus, including a scriptural review of Jesus’ activity during his life on earth, is particularly jarring. (I like a good, jarring book after all.)

This relatively new novel called The Traveler is intriguing to say the least. It’s holding me captive until the new George R. R. Martin comes out. Anyway, lots of Christianity/spirituality stuff in here. I’m interested to see where it goes.

The Church in Emerging Culture: Five Views is one of the more recent books from the Emergent crew at Zondervan. This one, though, explores the church’s response to culture. The thought of putting people like Andy Crouch, Len Sweet, Frederica Mathews-Green, Erwin McManus, Brian D. McLaren, and Michael Horton in the same room to discuss this topic (I think I’m missing someone) makes me wish I could have been a fly on the wall. The great thing is, I get to be. The format has comments from the other authors embedded in the text. What I’d really love is to be able to read this book on the Web, with clickable comments. (Would anybody be interested in writing an online, explorative theology like none other?!)

Finally, I’m digging into Killing the Buddha. I’m not really prepared to say much about this one yet, but it’s very interesting. If you want, check out the Web site.

One thought on “Book Update”

  1. If you like “Streams of Living Water”, then I think you might like the new book by Eugene Peterson called “Christ Plays in Ten Thousand Places: A Conversation in Spiritual Theology.” Normally I am not a huge fan of Peterson but I do think this is his best book he has so far produced. It has remarkable insights into living a life infilled with the Spirit.

Leave a Reply

