Heathens Do Christianity Better

Okay, provocative title notwithstanding, pretty nifty excerpt over at Cawley’s blog about Christian films and the heathens who make (and sometimes act in) them. He’s excerpting a review by Thom Parham of Barbara Nicolosi‘s new book Behind the Screen.

Why is it, d’you think, that nonChristians, even heathens, “get” Christianity? Sometimes to a painful degree, I have to admit. As campy as Saved! was, I found myself trying to wriggle away from some memories. My Christian school confiscated Carman’s Revival in the Land back in the day. (My mom was almost convinced.)

So this issue’s a sore one for me, I have to admit. I love movies, and I love the ones that “get it.” Even more than heathen-made Christian films, I love the real parables, films that are so out there in many ways yet illustrate a profound truth about God. (See my post about Garden State.) I’ll have to chew on this a bit longer, but in the meantime, check out either Kevin’s blog or the original article.

2 thoughts on “Heathens Do Christianity Better”

  1. This is really something to think about. Do you think non-Christians “do Christianity better” because they can do it without an agenda? They can take the good, but leave the beating people over the head with it. Is that a lesson for Christians? I know we have the Great Commission and a responsibility to tell people the truth about eternity and salvation, but I think we sometimes focus too much on the details. Saved! exposed some of those details, yet pretty much kept the truth about how Christians should be (settle down, I said “pretty much”!). I’ll have to think on this some more before I really know how I feel abou tit, but this is good stuff.

  2. I think it’s less the agenda and more that they have a good sense of story. I think most of these folks would be in the “Jesus had it right” camp. Which is why they can’t really make a movie about justification.

    Now, redemption is absolutely fair game, often even sacrificial redemption. For some reason, most everybody gets that sometimes, people suffer so others won’t have to. Neo is the classic modern example, but film is full of this stuff, as you know.

    But justification, the idea that we might not be good (and thus might not be able to relate to holy God) unless the above mentioned sacrifice happens, is a great big no-no.

    I think.

Leave a Reply

