Summer Reading

In the spirit of an almost-over summer, I post here what I’ve been reading this “summer” (starting, I believe, in May). The most annoying thing is that it’s precious little. I remember reading fifty to sixty books in a slow year, but these days, with wife and two kids–wonderful, all of them–I’ve slowed to a stagger, then collapsed, pulling myself along with bloody fingernails. (‘won’t give up, won’t stop reading!).

  • The Lord of the Rings trilogy, for about the twentieth time
  • His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman
  • City of Bones by Michael Connelly
  • Olympos by Dan Simmons
  • Hyperion by Dan Simmons
  • Lovedeath by Dan Simmons (what can I say, I like someone, I stick with ’em)
  • Breaking The Da Vinci Code by Darrell Bock
  • The Da Vinci Hoax Carl E. Olson/Sandra Miesel
  • Falling for God by Gary Moon

I think that’s it. I guess it’s not too bad. I’ve been sinking an awful lot of time into this and other blogs, as well as the Internet. I will confess that recent events in the Middle East have me checking the news every few hours. (We don’t have cable.) And I’ve been reading more politics lately than usual, via editorials and online magazines. All that makes for less time to read good old books.

This fall (beginning now), I plan to read:

  • The rest of Dan Simmons’ Hyperion Cantos: Fall of Hyperion, Endymion, The Rise of Endymion
  • Bleak House by Charles Dickens
  • Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  • The Challenge of Jesus by N.T. Wright (reread)
  • The Kite Runner (mainly so I can return it to Michelle; okay, I’m interested too)
  • In The Beauty of the Lilies by John Updike (I don’t love Updike, but this book’s too ambitious to ignore, esp. since I own it.)
  • The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning
  • To Own a Dragon by Donald Miller

That’s far too ambitious, probably, and fiction-heavy. But I’m trying to read the ‘classics’ I own, as well as other books I own, before reading pablum and/or buying much new. (I have to confess, my own writing has hit a wall, and I’m convinced it’s at least partly because I’ve been reading so much garbage.) Anyway…

What have you been reading? What do you wish you were reading? What do you plan on reading?

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading”

  1. I’ve read even less this summer, for which I have absolutely no excuse. I did read 12 books on Celebrity Theory (hey, it was for a paper!) at the end of last semester, so maybe I was just burnt out…nah, that doesn’t happen! I’ve just been lazy! (And I have a satellite dish and a DVR…ugh, don’t say it, I’m disgusted enough with myself!)

    WHAT I HAVE READ:
    * “The Man Called Cash” by Steve Turner – an autobiography of Johnny Cash, focusing on his spiritual ups and downs.

    * “Through Painted Deserts” by Donald Miller – the right book at the right time! I loved it.

    * “The Da Vinci Code” by Dan Brown – I reread it in preparation for the movie.

    * “Carrion Comfort” by Dan Simmons – well, almost. I’m over halfway finished and can’t quite seem to finish. But I feel such a responsibility to you and Lee! 🙂

    WHAT I WANT TO READ:
    * “Searching For God Knows What” by Donald Miller

    * “Velvet Elvis” by Rob Bell

    * “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen (it’s my annual Fall read)

    * “Church History in Plain Language”

    * Biographies on CS Lewis and Cary Grant (yes, my interests are varied!)

    * And I want to get back to my Old Testament reading. I’m not trying to sound super spiritual, I’ve just been slack on it lately and I’m looking forward to adding that back in as part of the routine.

    WHAT I WISH I WAS READING:
    * The seventh Harry Potter book – I know it will be a while, but I’m so anxious to see how Rowling will wrap the series.

    PS – The Kite Runner is amazing, but don’t worry about rushing it back. 🙂

  2. Been reading and hope to finish reading by end of summer

    N.T. Wright’s Trilogy
    A Canticle for Leibowitz – Walter Miller, Jr.
    Velvet Elvis – Rob Bell
    Hell: The Logic of Damnation – Jerry Walls
    Clowning in Rome – Henry Nouwen
    Wounded Healer -Henry Nouwen
    After our Likeness – Volf
    Free of Charge – Volf

    Various selections of the early church fathers.

Leave a Reply

