Heroes Premiere

Just finished watching the Heroes premiere, and I’m speechless. It’s incredible television, a compelling episode that rises to the best of what the medium can be. It’s fantastic. (Can you tell I liked it?)

I don’t want to spoil it if you’re waiting to watch it, so I’m not going to go into great detail here–at least not yet. Five people all over the world discover they have powers. Some are clearer than others: a time/space manipulator (he can teleport); a molecular regenerator (functionally indestructible); a prophet (he paints the future); a flyer; and something else (I couldn’t quite figure it out). They are mysteriously connected, not least through the research of a disgraced professor.

The one thing I can’t ignore is the idea of purpose. Every character in this episode is trying to make sense of who they are and why they’re in the world. None is living the life they planned, but each discovers they have a great power. As would probably be the case with any of us, none seem eager to jump into “hero work,” with one possible exception. Instead, they’re each trying to survive this time of great upheaval in their lives. And one character’s mother sums up the normal approach to life in our modern age: “Serving others only shortchanges yourself” (paraphrased).

I’m sure I’ll be writing more about this in the weeks to come. I know I don’t want to miss an episode.

One thought on “Heroes Premiere”

  1. I won’t get to watch it until next week as Paul is out of town and we’re planning to watch it together, but your post has me really looking forward to seeing it!

Leave a Reply

