Why I Love All the King’s Men

I loved All the King’s Men. The novel, I mean.

Robert Penn Warren’s novel strikes just the right tone. And unlike the new movie featuring Sean Penn, Anthony Hopkins, et. al. (I haven’t yet seen it, though Frederica Mathews-Green’s review at National Review Online makes me a little reluctant and sad) it’s a slow novel. You have to wait for it, digest it, let it work on you. That’s not what I want every day, or in every book I read, but I want to read a novel worth thinking about at least once a month.

All the King’s Men is such a novel. It has to do with important themes like power, and memory, and loyalty. Don’t sell yourself short by watching a performance of the novel without experiencing it yourself.

Enjoy.

One thought on “Why I Love All the King’s Men”

Leave a Reply

