The Web, Design, and the Deity

I’m no fool; I’m a Web design neophyte. I’ve spent about 6 months in Web development, primarily as a content developer, and though I have a decent sense for what makes for good design, I know I still have a lot to learn.

So in the spirit of Jeff Croft’s oldish post about how he plans to get better, I thought I’d do a little brainstorming of my own. In my case, however, as with most everything I do, I immediately thought of how design might be affected by a commitment to Jesus. In other words, how does a Christian do Web design? Is there a Christian aesthetic for Web design?

As I’ve been working on a redesign of my organization’s Web site, this has really come to the fore. Some of the principles we’ve discussed might be a foundation for God-soaked Web design. As a ministry, with the goal of communicating the good news about Jesus, one of our vision statements is “communicate the gospel to as many people as possible as simply as possible, as clearly as possible, and as quickly as possible in the power of the Holy Spirit to the glory of God.”

That provides, i think the keys to a God-glorifying Web design. Simplicity, clarity, accessibility (even more than for those with disabilities), and humility.

This has been a draft in my CMS for a while now, and what really shook it loose was reading this article by John Piper. There’s something I really like about the battle to remain spiritually minded, even when approaching things as apparently innocuous as Web design or surfing. And so many in our world are dedicated to the ephemeral and transitory, rather than to the immutable and eternal—God Himself.

Piper provides some useful practices to retain spiritual focus in a world like ours. But are there other principles we should use when engaging in something like Web interaction?

Leave a Reply

