Bang not Whimper

Sufjan StevensSince I’m neck-deep in a freelance writing project (and racing like mad to finish), this will be my last post of this illustrious year. And since I want it to matter, here’s a quick rundown of stuff that matters, well, to me.

I want to make sure you know about the Calvin Festival of Faith and Music.

If you know anything about me, you know I was salivating to see that both Sufjan Stevens, Emmylou Harris, and NEKO CASE will be performing. I’ve posted about Neko’s song “Porchlight.” Good stuff. Gooooood stuff.

And the speakers are no slouches either. In addition to the performers, Lauren Winner of Mudhouse Sabbath fame (though I liked Girl Meets God better); David Dark of Everyday Apocalypse fame; and hey, Atlanta homeboy Josh Jackson of PASTE magazine. I’m still tossing around the idea of going. Whew.

My eMusic era has ended for the time being. I still highly recommend the service, and wish I could keep it. I got some fantastic albums, including Blacklisted by Neko Case :). I hope to go back someday.

Incidentally, I’m writing this to The Hold Steady’s Boys and Girls in America, and it’s very appropriate somehow. Breathless rock behind the sort of speak-singing that makes me think affectionately of Bob Seger and Van Morrison, and nostalgically of Adam Duritz.

I saw the DeNiro film The Good Shepherd last week, and was very impressed. Matt Damon manages the intense but controlled performance that has made him fun to watch as Jason Bourne. And Angelina Jolie is as good as I’ve seen her. No kidding. It’s not fast, but I still felt a little winded at the end of it, just because it built to such a crescendo. Nicely done, Bobby D. See it if you can.

I also rewatched two fine films this week: The Royal Tenenbaums and The Dirty Dozen. They couldn’t be more different, but you should see them if you haven’t. TRT reminded me what a great director Wes Anderson can be, when he’s not trying too hard to be Wes Anderson (as I think he was in The Life Aquatic

So with that, I bid farewell to 2006. It’s been a wild ride. I may get around to a retrospective or something next week. That would be nice, don’t you think?

Sayonara, and see you next year.

One thought on “Bang not Whimper”

  1. Well I, for one, certainly think you should come to the Festival! We’re all for excited about it from this end (I’m on the Festival committee) and want to share it with as many folks as we can …

    Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

