Now Loving Now Reading

Books in a boxThere are two motives for reading a book:
one, that you enjoy it; the other, that you can boast about it.

Bertrand Russell

I’ve finally found a WordPress plugin I can’t do without. Now Reading, developed by a bloke called Rob Miller, tracks your reading projects book by book. You can see it in action on my sidebar.

You can see endless useful documentation about Now Reading at Rob’s site, but suffice it to say that the plugin is now indispensable for me. Basically, you enter the books you plan to read, and enter the date you start each one. When you’re finished, enter that too, and you’ll have a record of your reading for the month and the year.

What I like most about Now Reading is its extensibility. I’ve managed to use CSS to display my stuff exactly as I want it to appear. And, after learning a bit more PHP, I plan to try my hand at really extending its usefulness. For one thing, I’d like to be able to call the number of pages from Amazon to display the pages read in a given period. I can also imagine a tag cloud of the types of books I’ve been reading. Course, no one will care but me, but hey, it’ll be a fun learning experience, right?

For now, check out my books (a lot fewer than I used to read!). I’m starting to read a bit more, and being a bit of an achiever, it’s nice to see how many I’ve read. Don’t miss the link to my full library at the bottom of the sidebar.

If you’re hosting your own WordPress blog, you’ll probably love it. [In the interests of full disclosure, I do have to add that it’s given Cam fits.] You can download the Now Reading plugin here.

I admit it: I’m no longer ashamed to be a nerd.

One thought on “Now Loving Now Reading”

  1. PC Load Letter? What the heck does that mean. It’s an absolute mystery to me why I can’t make it work. Oh well. I probably have something else to do anyway.

Leave a Reply

