Explanations for the 101 Project

Answers to two questions about the reading project I recently started.

First, the list. Cameron and I consulted several great books lists, and used the list in Adler and Van Doren’s How to Read a Book as a starting point. We nixed most of the science this go-round, substituting fiction and some theology/Christian classics that we hadn’t read. I’m sure we’ve missed some important ones, and that we’ve chosen some lesser works by some authors because we were very familiar with the main work (e.g. Lewis’s Mere Christianity).

Second, the order. While chronological reading would be best, I decided to read as interest took me to give myself some early “cross-offs” and keep up my momentum. It’s kind of like starting to read the Bible in Genesis. It’s possible to get hung up in Leviticus or Numbers (I know I have), and I wanted to give myself the best chance of success.

Leave a Reply

