Our Backyard Garden

One key to simplicity for me is being able to grow some of our food. So this year I built two square foot gardens–oops, a Square Foot Gardens(tm). The boys and I put them together last week, and then waited out the last (I hope) freeze of the spring.

Below are some pictures of two raised beds, freshly planted this morning.

SF Garden 1

Those bushes in the back are strawberries. All the other plants are tomatoes: Red Beefsteak and Rutgers.

SF Garden 2

This one has straightneck squash, zucchini, cucumbers, carrots, red onions, and, in the nearest corner, canteloupe.

Elsewhere in the yard I’ve planted Kristi’s favorite summertime treat, watermelon. I’ve got two varieties, Jubilee and Crimson Sweet. I’ve also got two or three pumpkins (Connecticut Field) and lettuce (Buttercrunch and Black-Seeded Simpson).

I still have a windowsill full of seedlings, as you can see below. Kristi asked the other day when she could have her kitchen back. It’ll be at least a week or two before these go into the garden.

Seedlings on the Windowsill

The tomatoes are: Brandywine, Early Girl, Jellybean, and Roma. There are some peppers as well: Chili, Banana, and Jalapeno. And those stringy things that you may or may not be able to see in the near left corner are broccoli.

I’ll post some occasional update photos. I’m looking forward to watching this stuff grow with my boys.

2 thoughts on “Our Backyard Garden”

  1. I am so absolutely impressed with this. What an awesome way to display your wonderful family life. I am so proud of you, Kristi, and your celebration of living large!

    Love – Mama

Leave a Reply

